Steven K

John was so easy to deal with and a complete professional. Super responsive, showed up on time and performed a very thorough inspection, checking every nook and cranny. Clealry takes care and pride in his work and it shows. Asked him for a recommendation on a dehumidifier and he emailed a link with his pick the same day. If you need a knowledgeable and professional mold inspector who will do a great job, look no further.

Description of work:

Needed to have our new house inspected for mold.

7/4/2017 Grand View-on-hudson, NY 10960

Robert S

The experience was wonderful. My wife and I are looking to buy a property and found mold to in attic of the house we want to buy. John was very quick, and a wealth of information. He went throw each and every detail of the mold remediation process with me. John was a true professional and would highly recommend him!

Description of work:

Test of possible mold in attic

5/17/2017 Brewster, NY 10509

Devin D

Great. John was quick to respond to our inquiry and came to evaluate our home the following day. He was very knowledgeable and offered many good suggestions and tips.

Description of work:

Mold inspection in our home.

5/4/2017 New City, NY 10956

Monica C

I retained HNST to perform an inspection because of all of the positive comments from his previous customers. I was not disappointed. John was very professional and knowledgeable, answering my questions in language I could understand, and providing me with information on how to effectively remediate the mold issue in as cost-effective a manner as possible. I highly recommend HNST's services.

Description of work:

I knew that there likely was mold throughout the home, but didn't know how extensive or potentially harmful it was.

2/8/2017 New City, NY 10956

Betty M

I highly recommend John for his knowledge and professionalism. I definitely would use him again if the need should arise.

Description of work:

John Skelly was needed to do a mold assessment on a property. It was requested by the mortgage company in order to approve the mortgage for my buyer. I called him, he can out the next day and was very professional and knowledgeable. He furnished the report in a timely fashion. My client was very impressed and pleased.

2/04/2017 Nanuet, NY 10954

Robert A

Went smoothly and explanations were clear

Description of work:

mold evaluation and testing

1/04/2017 Stony Point, NY 10980

Elias B

Mold test completed

9/04/2017 Westwood, NJ 07675

Robin S

John was very professional, honest and reliable. We would absolutely recommend his service.

Description of work:

We had a mold inspection.

8/20/2016 Pearl River, NY 10965

Michael Q

John was great!  We had been given a quote for some work from a company that just looked at the mold and recommended an extreme amount of work that seemed excessive ( well, I hoped it was).  I got a recommendation to have the mold tested and I found HNST on Angie's list.   John told me on the phone that the location that I described meant it was very unlikely that it was the very toxic type of mold and that it was unlikely that the mold would be in some of the other areas that the other company had said needed to all be ripped out.  He described why, and after doing some research, it made sense.  So, i asked him to come check it out.

John came to my home right on time, he did the inspection.  He really knows his mold!  His explanation and recommendation made sense.  Basically I just had mold due to condensation on my roof sheathing.  He tested the mold and confirmed the type and wrote a nice report that explained how the mold should be remediated.  It is an allergen, so it should be removed, but it isn't the ridiculous "black mold" that people really go batty over (for legitimate reasons I think).  He also made some recommendations of how to get to the root cause so the condensation would not re-occur in a significant way.   I am an engineer so I nerded out on this stuff and did a bunch of research.   John's recommendations all made sense and could be corroborated.  On top of all this, he is a super nice guy.  His stuff about trying to be fair and objective, ( I can't remember the whole writeup that he has),  all that stuff... it is true!

I cannot recommend HNST enough!  It is such a pleasure to work with scientifically minded, objective, fair people.  Thanks to John, and to Angie's list  for this!!

Description of work:

John came and inspected our attic for mold, including sampling the mold to identify the type

6/05/2016 Chappaqua, NY 10514

David T

Description of work:

Inspect basement

4/27/2016 Hastings On Hudson, NY 10706

Roy B

John was very profession and punctual. tested 1st and second floor for mold and air quality . Very accurate and detail oriented and answered all questions thoroughly about test results. Would use John's company again for air quality testing.

Description of work:

Provided mold and air quality testing and inspection.

1/27/2016 North Haledon, NJ 07508

Jessica K

Recommended purchasing a HEPA vacuum rated for abatement such as Nilfisk to clean up shoddy work done previously by mold remediator. Found mold in window a/c units and recommended replacement. Overall offered advice for how to get the house clean because a member of the household has been extremely sick since moving into the house and finding black mold in the basement.

Description of work:

Mold inspection of house

12/12/2015 Fair Lawn, NJ 07410

Mitch S

After a general inspector suspected mold in a house I was planning to buy, I found HNST on Angie?s list and John came right away. John is extremely knowledgeable, honest, and professional. He only inspects and does not sell any products or have any interest in a remediation company. His inspection was very thorough (see above for work done), and he made sure all my questions were answered. After he inspected, I emailed and called John several times with follow-up questions, and he was always very responsive and helpful. John?s follow-up visit was scheduled for the day after remediation was complete. The day before, John became sick, and he asked if it was possible to come one day later, but if not he would still come. I told John that even though I was on a very tight schedule to get in the house, his health is more important and he should wait an extra day to come. But he decided to come anyway as scheduled, because he didn't want to inconvenience me. He showed up a few minutes early, did a very thorough job, and didn't leave until he was sure all of my questions were answered. Again, after his work was done, I emailed John with questions and he was very responsive and helpful. During a time of stress of moving into a new house, it is refreshing to work with John, who is truly looking out for my best interest. Considering all the effort and time John spent with me during his visits and after, he is an incredible value! I recommend HNST most highly without any reservations: A++ !

Description of work:

1) Initial Visit:  a) Mold inspection of entire house, attic, crawl space, and outdoor drainage; b) Swab and air samples for lab testing; c) detailed report including pictures, lab results, and mold remediation procedures.

2) Follow-up after remediation by independent 3rd party: a) inspection of remediator’s work; b) several air samples and lab results; c) clearance letter and pictures.

11/04/2015 Ridgewood, NJ 07450

Anne G

John thoroughly inspected our entire home, identified the precise location of the mold issues, drafted a perfect report with testing included. No question that we are sleeping better at night knowing exactly what issues we have going on in our home and how to address them. John couldn't have been more professional, pleasant to work with and very thorough. Highly recommend his trusted work! Money well spent.

10/27/2015 West Orange, NJ 07052

Ginger B

I got John's name from Angie's list and got in touch with him on just the great reviews he received on here. I got in touch with him through here and he got back to me right away. What a nice, honest, sincere person. The minute I met him I felt very comfortable with him and knew right away that I would use his services. He inspected the basement for mold which he did find. Not much mold but enough to see it on the molding. After asking him if he could recommend someone (he did not offer the names - I asked for them) he gave me the name of two people that I could contact. I contacted three people and finally went for one of the recommendations he suggested (who was also great by the way). From start to finish it took about two weeks time in total - once the remediation was complete, John came back and did an air quality test which came out fine. If I ever need this type of work done again in the future (I'm hoping I'm not - no offense John) - I would definitely use him again. He was great! Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!!

Description of work:

Came to inspect my basement for mold after a minor flood.

5/19/2015 Suffern, NY 10901

Joe L

Informative, thorough and reliable. Addressed all of my concerns and was very honest with his opinion and next steps. Very comfortable from start to finish and didn't waste time trying to sell anything.

I would definitely recommend HNST to anyone who is looking for an inspection.

Description of work:

Inquired about symptoms and history with the house.  Took apart heating unit and fixed broken connector.  Checked every single room and took photos to help identify area of concerns.  Made several suggestions on how to remediate.

4/06/2015 Rye Brook, NY 10573

Giorgio D

John came out to check the house on very short notice, was very nice and accommodating despite the fact that I was a little late. The house inspection was very accurate and thorough. John took the time to explain his findings to me and the previous owners in a very clear manner, answering all manners of questions. Knowing that the situation was quite complicated - new owners, old owners, insurance companies, and poor remediation by previously hired company, John delivered a report in the midst of a long holiday weekend. The report also included the necessary steps and procedures to be followed in order for a proper and final remediation to our mold problem. Guess who's going to be asked to perform our follow up inspection?

 

5/29/2017 Tarrytown, NY