Mitch S

After a general inspector suspected mold in a house I was planning to buy, I found HNST on Angie?s list and John came right away. John is extremely knowledgeable, honest, and professional. He only inspects and does not sell any products or have any interest in a remediation company. His inspection was very thorough (see above for work done), and he made sure all my questions were answered. After he inspected, I emailed and called John several times with follow-up questions, and he was always very responsive and helpful. John?s follow-up visit was scheduled for the day after remediation was complete. The day before, John became sick, and he asked if it was possible to come one day later, but if not he would still come. I told John that even though I was on a very tight schedule to get in the house, his health is more important and he should wait an extra day to come. But he decided to come anyway as scheduled, because he didn't want to inconvenience me. He showed up a few minutes early, did a very thorough job, and didn't leave until he was sure all of my questions were answered. Again, after his work was done, I emailed John with questions and he was very responsive and helpful. During a time of stress of moving into a new house, it is refreshing to work with John, who is truly looking out for my best interest. Considering all the effort and time John spent with me during his visits and after, he is an incredible value! I recommend HNST most highly without any reservations: A++ !

Description of work:

1) Initial Visit:  a) Mold inspection of entire house, attic, crawl space, and outdoor drainage; b) Swab and air samples for lab testing; c) detailed report including pictures, lab results, and mold remediation procedures.

2) Follow-up after remediation by independent 3rd party: a) inspection of remediator’s work; b) several air samples and lab results; c) clearance letter and pictures.

11/04/2015 Ridgewood, NJ 07450

Jessica K

Recommended purchasing a HEPA vacuum rated for abatement such as Nilfisk to clean up shoddy work done previously by mold remediator. Found mold in window a/c units and recommended replacement. Overall offered advice for how to get the house clean because a member of the household has been extremely sick since moving into the house and finding black mold in the basement.

Description of work:

Mold inspection of house

12/12/2015 Fair Lawn, NJ 07410

Roy B

John was very profession and punctual. tested 1st and second floor for mold and air quality . Very accurate and detail oriented and answered all questions thoroughly about test results. Would use John's company again for air quality testing.

Description of work:

Provided mold and air quality testing and inspection.

1/27/2016 North Haledon, NJ 07508

David T

Description of work:

Inspect basement

4/27/2016 Hastings On Hudson, NY 10706

Michael Q

John was great!  We had been given a quote for some work from a company that just looked at the mold and recommended an extreme amount of work that seemed excessive ( well, I hoped it was).  I got a recommendation to have the mold tested and I found HNST on Angie's list.   John told me on the phone that the location that I described meant it was very unlikely that it was the very toxic type of mold and that it was unlikely that the mold would be in some of the other areas that the other company had said needed to all be ripped out.  He described why, and after doing some research, it made sense.  So, i asked him to come check it out.

John came to my home right on time, he did the inspection.  He really knows his mold!  His explanation and recommendation made sense.  Basically I just had mold due to condensation on my roof sheathing.  He tested the mold and confirmed the type and wrote a nice report that explained how the mold should be remediated.  It is an allergen, so it should be removed, but it isn't the ridiculous "black mold" that people really go batty over (for legitimate reasons I think).  He also made some recommendations of how to get to the root cause so the condensation would not re-occur in a significant way.   I am an engineer so I nerded out on this stuff and did a bunch of research.   John's recommendations all made sense and could be corroborated.  On top of all this, he is a super nice guy.  His stuff about trying to be fair and objective, ( I can't remember the whole writeup that he has),  all that stuff... it is true!

I cannot recommend HNST enough!  It is such a pleasure to work with scientifically minded, objective, fair people.  Thanks to John, and to Angie's list  for this!!

Description of work:

John came and inspected our attic for mold, including sampling the mold to identify the type

6/05/2016 Chappaqua, NY 10514

Robin S

John was very professional, honest and reliable. We would absolutely recommend his service.

Description of work:

We had a mold inspection.

8/20/2016 Pearl River, NY 10965

Elias B

Mold test completed

9/04/2017 Westwood, NJ 07675

Robert A

Went smoothly and explanations were clear

Description of work:

mold evaluation and testing

1/04/2017 Stony Point, NY 10980

Betty M

I highly recommend John for his knowledge and professionalism. I definitely would use him again if the need should arise.

Description of work:

John Skelly was needed to do a mold assessment on a property. It was requested by the mortgage company in order to approve the mortgage for my buyer. I called him, he can out the next day and was very professional and knowledgeable. He furnished the report in a timely fashion. My client was very impressed and pleased.

2/04/2017 Nanuet, NY 10954

Monica C

I retained HNST to perform an inspection because of all of the positive comments from his previous customers. I was not disappointed. John was very professional and knowledgeable, answering my questions in language I could understand, and providing me with information on how to effectively remediate the mold issue in as cost-effective a manner as possible. I highly recommend HNST's services.

Description of work:

I knew that there likely was mold throughout the home, but didn't know how extensive or potentially harmful it was.

2/8/2017 New City, NY 10956